About Us » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors are professionally skilled volunteers who serve the Southern Wake Academy community by providing governance oversight of the school's operations. Their main responsibilities are: 

  1. To ensure the school's academic program is successful, measured by both internal and external assessments; 

  2. To ensure the school's operational programs functioning at the highest level, aligned to the school’s charter and exceeding all compliance requirements; and, 

  3. To ensure the school is a viable organization, which includes, among other things, that it is financially solvent and employs a competent professional staff. 

The email address of each board member is below, however, the first contact to the school should always be to the teacher or the principal of the school. Although the board is responsible for the school's overall success, they do not handle the school's operations.
 
The Board is responsible for providing the strategic vision and goals for SWA, hiring, supervising and holding the principal to who runs the school accountable for meeting the goals and objectives set for SWA.
 
 

Board Members

President, Robin Henderson robin.henderson@swake.org

Vice President, Lori Stokes  lori.stokes@swake.org

Secretary, Marlyn Bridgman marlyn.bridgman@swake.org 

Treasurer, Tim Allen tim.allen@swake.org

Gary Leonard gary.leonard@swake.org

Kay Smith kay.smith@swake.org 

To email the entire Board: board@swake.org 

Board Meetings

The Board typically meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month, and the meetings begin at 7:00PM (unless otherwise noted). Members of the public are invited to attend. Board meetings for the 2020-2021 academic year are noted below.

Until further notice, in support of the mandatory school closures, Board meetings are being held virtually via Zoom. 

 

Invitation to Southern Wake Academy virtual board meeting, August 4, 2020.

 

Topic: Remote Learning Plan
 
Topic: SWA Board Meeting
Time: August 4, 2020 07:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

 Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4850136618

Meeting ID: 485 013 6618

 


July 2020


Tuesday, July 2, 2020

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Agenda for 7/7

Friday, July 17, 2020

Agenda for 7/15

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

Agenda for 7/28

August 2020



Tuesday, August 4, 2020*

Tuesday, August 11, 2020*

Tuesday, August 18, 2020*

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

 

*Special Meeting

September 2020



Tuesday, September 22, 2020

(Link Agenda here)

October 2020



Tuesday, October 27, 2020

(Link Agenda here)

November 2020


Tuesday, November 17, 2020

(Link Agenda here)

December 2020


Tuesday, December 15, 2020

(Link Agenda here)

Only if needed

January 2021


Tuesday, January 26, 2021

(Link Agenda here)

February 2021


Tuesday, February 23, 2021

(Link Agenda here)

March 2021


Tuesday, March 23, 2021

(Link Agenda here)

April 2021


Tuesday, April 27 2021

(Link Agenda here)

May 2021


Tuesday, May 25, 2021

(Link Agenda here)

June 2021


Tuesday, June 29, 2021

(Link Agenda here)

Communication
 
Under Construction

Approved Board Minutes

Governing Documents